To present the best in non-professional theater to a broad-based audience, and to preserve and maintain Eliot Hall as a community resource.

About Eliot Hall

Originally built in 1832 in Greek Revival/Italianate style, the hall was slated for demolition by the time the club’s members purchased it in 1889. Since then it has served for over a century as the organization’s home and performance venue. The Trustees of Eliot Hall were formed by the group in the 1980s to oversee renovations to the deteriorating building, saving it from closure, and in 1988 it was added to the National Register of Historic Places.

About Us

The Footlight Club seeks to provide high quality amateur entertainment at affordable prices by using the talents and creative energies of the people in its community. Generations of families, neighbors, and friends participate, attend, and enjoy the Club's welcoming atmosphere and solid productions. Between 1929 and 1939, the Footlight Club presented 15 Boston theatrical premieres, three of which were American premieres.

The Footlight Club is committed to preserving Eliot Hall, a resource which is so much a part of its community. Eliot Hall is undergoing a long-term renovation as its members and friends in the community return it to its former magnificence.

What We Do

The Board of Directors upholds the mission of the Footlight Club, and take care of its continued operation and production schedule. 

The Trustees devote fundraising efforts to not only preserve Eliot Hall, but to ensure its longevity. The Hall is undergoing a long-term renovation.

Board of Directors

President: Kristin MacDougall
(Term Exp: June 2020)
Vice President: Amanda Bedford
(Term Exp: June 2020)
Secretary: Coco Coviello-Foster
(Term Exp: June 2021)
Treasurer: Rob Guptill
(Term Exp: June 2021)
Artistic Planning Director: Kathleen Comber
(Term Exp: June 2022)
Development Director: Katie Swimm
(Term Exp: June 2022)
Facilities Director: David Rodrigues
(Term Exp: June 2020)
Front-of-House Director: Jen Ryan Gelzleichter
(Term Exp: June 2021)
Membership Director: Dustin Todd Rennells
(Term Exp: June 2022)
Productions Director: Olivia Sederlund
Promotions Director: Michael Colford
(Term Exp: June 2020)
Technical Director: Elliot Borenstein
(Term Exp: June 2021)
Volunteers Director: Elizabeth Bean
(Term Exp: June 2021)

Trustees of Eliot Hall

Chair: Katie Swimm
Brian Bakofen
Paul Campbell
Shannon Daly
Katie Taylor

Proud Members

The Footlight Club is a proud member of EMACT, the Eastern Massachusetts Association of Community Theaters, Stage Source, Boston, Small Theater Alliance of Boston, JP Local First, and JP BAPA.